

LEAGUE OF

NATIONAL EXECUTIVE BOARD MA. LAARNI L. CAYETANO National Chairma RONNEL C. RIVERA National Vice Chairn EDGARDO D. PAMINTUAN National Presiden ALLAN L. RELLON Executive Vice-President AMADEO GREGORIO E. PEREZ IV Vice-President for Lu FELIPE ANTONIO B. REMOLLO ice-President for Visaya MARIE L. GUINGONA Vice-President for Mindanao JAIME R. FRESNEDI Vice-President for NCR FRANCIS ANTHONY S. GARCIA Secretary General JUSTIN MARC SB. CHIPECO

JUSTIN MARC SB. CHIPECO Deputy Secretary General for Luzon EVELIO R. LEONARDIA Deputy Secretary General for Visayas JOSEPH R. PEÑAS

Deputy Secretary General for Mindanao MARCELINO R. TEODORO Deputy Secretary General for NCR ANTONIO A. FERRER

Treasurer MAURICIO G. DOMOGAN

Regional Representative for CAR JUAN CARLO S. MEDINA

Regional Representative for Region I BERNARD FAUSTINO M. DY Regional Representative for Region II NESTOR L. ALVAREZ

Regional Representative for Region III ANTONINO G. CALIXTO Regional Representative for NCR

Regional Representative for NCR ANTONIO C. HALILI Regional Representative for Region IV-A

ARNAN C. PANALIGAN

Regional Representative for Region IV-B MADELAINE Y. ALFELOR-GAZMEN Regional Representative for Region V

JESRY T. PALMARES Regional Representative for Region VI AGUSTIN ERNESTO G. BASCON Regional Representative for Negros Island

JOHN GEESNELL L. YAP II Regional Representative for Region VII NACIONAL V. MERCADO

Regional Representative for Region VIII BENG G. CLIMACO

Regional Representative for Region IX PHILIP T. TAN

PHILIP T. TAN Regional Representative for Region X AL DAVID T. UY

AL DAVID T. UY Regional Representative for Region XI

PETER B. MIGUEL, M.D. Regional Representative for Region XII ERNESTO T. MATUGAS

Regional Representative for CARAGA ROSITA U. FURIGAY

Regional Representative for ARMM SALLY ANTE-LEE Women Sector Representative

LUCILO R. BAYRON Auditor

OSCAR G. MALAPITAN Public Relations Officer

ROLEN C. PAULINO Deputy P.R.O. for Luzon

PAZ C. RADAZA Deputy P.R.O. for Visayas AZUCENA P. HUERVAS

Deputy P.R.O. for Mindanao EDWIN L. OLIVAREZ Deputy P.R.O. for NCR

NICEPURO L. APURA Focal Mayor for the SDGs

PATRICK G. ESCALANTE, M.D. Focal Mayor for Health MAJUL USMAN GANDAMRA

Focal Mayor for Muslim Affairs NOEL E. ROSAL Focal Mayor for the Environment

Focal Mayor for the Environment, Climate Change and Disaster Risk and Reduction Management CHRISTIAN D. NATIVIDAD

Focal Mayor for Housing and Urban Development

CIELO KRISEL B. LAGMAN-LUISTRO Focal Mayor for Education JOSEPH S. TAN

Focal Mayor for Gender and Development LINA O. MONTILLA Focal Mayor for Gender and Development

Unit J & K, 7th Floor, CyberOne Building, Eastwood Avenue, Bagumbayan, Quezon City, Philippines 1110 Tel. No.: +632.470.6837, +632.470.6813, +632.470.6843 | Fax No.: +632.470.7210 URL: http://www.lcp.org.ph

ITIES OF

LCP PREXY TO ATTEND 2ND ROUND OF PEACE TALKS

LCP prexy to attend 2nd round of peace talks in Oslo, Norway

League of Cities of the Philippines President and Angeles City Mayor Edgardo Pamintuan is set to leave for Oslo, Norway on Wednesday, 5 October 2016, to attend the second round of peace negotiation between the Government Peace Panel and the National Democratic Front of the Philippines.

Pamintuan has served as the adviser to the GPH peace panel since 2004 during the term of President Gloria Macapagal Arroyo.

"The GPH and NDFP peace panels will conduct the second round of formal talks in Oslo, Norway from October 6 to 10, 2016. Our hopes are high that we will achieve another breakthrough and come up with more comprehensive agreements that will lead to the formal signing of a peace settlement by next year." Pamintuan said.

Among the items in the agenda during this month's negotiations are the Comprehensive Agreement of Social and Economic Reforms or Caser, Political and Constitutional Reforms, and the Joint Ceasefire Agreement.

"We already have indefinite unilateral ceasefire declarations and for the first time since the talks started 30 years ago the ceasefire is holding. We could now discuss and hopefully agree on a joint ceasefire declaration." Pamintuan said.

The peace negotiation with the NDFP, which has been waging a 5-decade guerilla war in the countrysides, and was hiatus after the release on bail of jailed top-leaders of the Communist Party of the Philippines.



LEAGUE OF CITIES OF THE PHILIPPINES

Unit J & K, 7th Floor, CyberOne Building, Eastwood Avenue, Bagumbayan, Quezon City, Philippines 1110 Tel. No.: +632.470.6837, +632.470.6813, +632.470.6843 | Fax No.: +632.470.7210 URL: http://www.lcp.org.ph

NATIONAL EXECUTIVE BOARD MA. LAARNI L. CAYETANO National Chairma RONNEL C. RIVERA National Vice Chairn EDGARDO D. PAMINTUAN National Presiden ALLAN L. RELLON Executive Vice-President AMADEO GREGORIO E. PEREZ IV Vice-President for Lux FELIPE ANTONIO B. REMOLLO ice-President for Visaya MARIE L. GUINGONA Vice-President for Mindanao JAIME R. FRESNEDI Vice-President for NCR FRANCIS ANTHONY S. GARCIA Secretary General JUSTIN MARC SB. CHIPECO Deputy Secretary General for Luzon EVELIO R. LEONARDIA Deputy Secretary General for Visayas JOSEPH R. PEÑAS retary General for Mindanao MARCELINO R. TEODORO Deputy Secretary General for NCR ANTONIO A. FERRER Treasurer MAURICIO G. DOMOGAN Regional Representative for CAR JUAN CARLO S. MEDINA Regional Representative for Region BERNARD FAUSTINO M. DY Regional Representative for Region II NESTOR L. ALVAREZ Regional Representative for Region III ANTONINO G. CALIXTO Regional Representative for NCR ANTONIO C. HALILI Regional Representative for Region IV-A ARNAN C. PANALIGAN Regional Representative for Region IV-B MADELAINE Y. ALFELOR-GAZMEN Regional Representative for Region V JESRY T. PALMARES Regional Representative for Region VI AGUSTIN ERNESTO G. BASCON Regional Representative for Negros Island JOHN GEESNELL L. YAP II Regional Representative for Region VII NACIONAL V. MERCADO tative for Region VIII BENG G. CLIMACO Regional Representative for Region IX PHILIP T. TAN Regional Representative for Region X AL DAVID T. UY Regional Representative for Region XI PETER B. MIGUEL, M.D. Regional Representative for Region XII ERNESTO T. MATUGAS Regional Representative for CARAGA ROSITA U. FURIGAY Regional Representative for ARMM SALLY ANTE-LEE Women Sector Representative LUCILO R. BAYRON OSCAR G. MALAPITAN Public Relations Office ROLEN C. PAULINO Deputy P.R.O. for Luzon PAZ C. RADAZA Deputy P.R.O. for Visayas AZUCENA P. HUERVAS Deputy P.R.O. for Mindanao EDWIN L. OLIVAREZ Deputy P.R.O. for NCR NICEPURO L. APURA Focal Mayor for the SDGs PATRICK G. ESCALANTE, M.D. Focal Mayor for Health MAJUL USMAN GANDAMRA Focal Mayor for Muslim Affairs NOEL E. ROSAL Focal Mayor for the Environment, Climate Change and Disaster Risk and Reduction Management

CHRISTIAN D. NATIVIDAD Focal Mayor for Housing and Urban Development

CIELO KRISEL B. LAGMAN-LUISTRO Focal Mayor for Education

JOSEPH S. TAN Focal Mayor for Infrastructure Development LINA O. MONTILLA

LINA O. MONTILLA Focal Mayor for Gender and Development "The way to Oslo, Norway is long and back-breaking. The road to peace is also not easy. The issues are deep. The root-causes of this war has to be addressed. The people must be informed that what we are aiming is not only the end of armed hostilities but also the solution to the social and economic issues that brought about this conflict. At the end of the day, it is the Filipino people who must benefit." Pamintuan said.

Former LCP President and Quezon City Mayor Herbert Bautista will also join the trip to Oslo, Norway as the GPH peace panel adviser.